on a harlots porch

come and knock on my door she said
come spend the day with me
ive nowhere to go
youve nowhere to go
come keep me company

come and knock on my door she said
ive got nowhere to be
im awfully tired
youre awfully tired
ill keep you company

come and knock on my door she said
i wont yet be asleep
ive waited enough
youve waited enough
come keep me company

come and knock on my door she said
youve been longing for me
i have what you want
i am what you want
ill keep you company

come and knock on my door she said
no need for secrecy
you know you need me
i know you need me
come keep me company

come and knock on my door she said
you come so eagerly
dont act so surprised
youre not so surprised
im your idolatry

4 Responses to “on a harlots porch”

  1. Wow Greg you are getting good.

  2. Sexy with its repetition and rhythm… I like how you’ve repeated the word “come” which, here, might have more than one meaning. I can picture the harlot.

  3. I love blogs like this. Thank you so much for creating and sharing.

  4. Ooo I like this poem. How the intensity of the want/need increases through out the poem.

    I like Poeticgrin’s comment too.

Leave a Reply

