Shouting Silent Reverie

I was never able to express myself

Not in a genuine,

Soul-searched,

Wide-open way,

Not to you,

Anyhow,

The one person who mattered more to me

Than life itself,

One day that I remember clear…

And all this time later,

All these years hence and beyond and gone,

I still remember that day,

I still hold on to that day,

It still haunts and affects and moves me

Because I was never your boy,

Not that boy,

Not the one you wrote home about

Or cried about,

Or didn’t want to live without,

I was just someone else

Not really to be bothered about…

O God I remember it

How possibly could I have forgotten it?

I couldn’t

I can’t

It’s still here,

It’s me,

Hiding behind my computer screen.

One Response to “Shouting Silent Reverie”

  1. Oh, Mark. I like this. A great deal.

Leave a comment