I’m getting published! And double bass pedals…

Sweet. I got a letter in the mail this morning from Forces, the liberal arts publication of the College. Inside was included a letter informing me that they would be featuring two of my poems in their upcoming edition, namely The Chess Game of Gods and To Be Forgotten. And again I say, sweet.

Now for more awesome news: I and three guys from my church have started meeting on Saturdays to play some music. Colby and Tim on guitar, George doing vox and bass guitar, and featuring yours truly (that means me, FYI) hammering away on the drums. Which brings me to my next point: don’t do drugs. Wait. No. I meant to say that I have now replaced all the toms’ heads with Remo Ebony Pinstripes, the bass drum with an Aquarian Superkick II and some Evans impact patches, recieved some 7A Vic Firths for Christmas, and, most recently, picked up $200 worth of Tama Iron Cobra Jr. double bass pedals. Now I’m wondering if Carol would be capable of custom crafting me a new drum set…? Oh, well, that’s for the future, the distant future.

Now for a recent-life-events summary. I deleted my myspace accounts, the internet went down, I adore Racquetball, I made human sacrifices in honor of my incredible English professor, I stopped chasing Martha, I adore Racquetball, I got double bass pedals, my poems are being published, the net is working again, and I’m posting a blog. That, my friends, was brevity.

10 Responses to “I’m getting published! And double bass pedals…”

  1. Double Base Pedal…

    doncha mean double BASS pedal?

  2. Kudos on the publication news! I won’t know for several weeks whether the poetry I submitted to the Shinnery will make it in. Speaking of which, how far along are you with those books? 🙂 Also, who is Martha?

  3. Congratulations on getting two of your poems published. 🙂

  4. Martha is a long story now complete with a much-needed ending. The Shinnery was going just fine until I came into the possession of the Dragonrealm series by Richard A. Knaak, my favorite author, and I am afraid that all other literature has fallen prey to my obsession with Mr. Knaak’s excellent storytelling. Thanks to the both of you for being happy for me. Brittany, since you work on the Shinnery, shouldn’t you be able to ensure that your work makes it in?

  5. congrats!

  6. That wasn’t exactly an answer about Martha.

    Fantasy pop lit doesn’t trump good poetry!

    I am on staff, but I would feel skeevy voting in favor of all of my poetry. Besides, there are several of us at meetings and we all vote on poetry as a group.

  7. No, it sure wasn’t.

    Knaak trumps, period.

    What fun is power if you don’t abuse it?

    Oh, and yes, rtone, I do mean bass, not base, but you’ll have to forgive me; I’ve been less than half alive as of late. I’ll go change it, just for you.

  8. Tell me why you stopped chasing Martha.

    Or not, it’s up to you. Just wanted you to know that I care. 🙂

  9. “To Be Forgotten”–that’s just marvelous. I definitely think that’s superb…glad your school publication concurs.

    (BTW, I’m posting it on my blog.)

  10. Mutual agreement, Mark. That’s why.

Leave a Reply

