Childhood (or Lack Thereof)

I do not wi…

…no.

I did not wish to grow up.

I would have stayed with you,

out there in the snow,

frantically kicking our arms about

to form angels who would fly only in our imaginations.

But accountability demands my presence now,

and I am forced to “accept responsibility”

(which I would much rather reject entirely).

I never wanted this.

I never wanted this.

And yet,

it’s beautiful once you’re out here.

2 Responses to “Childhood (or Lack Thereof)”

  1. That seems a silly question to ask a boy who has been to Ukraine in February…

Leave a Reply

