Summer

I like summer.  It makes me happy.  It makes me feel alive and optimistic for the future.  I don’t get sad in the summer.  I don’t get lonely.  I am not, usually, depressed by the warm air, the gorgeous breezes, the sun-dappled water, or the grand mountains.   Summer here is an amalgam of childhood memories and later-life remembrances, all at once ten and then twenty-something.   My soul lives here; it haunts the side streets and corner benches of small towns along the line.  It grows old at the soda fountain.  It rests by the stream.  I need not grandeur nor renown; I have the summer. 

2 Responses to “Summer”

  1. This is just really beautiful, Mark. I wish everyone could express themselves so well.

  2. Thank you, Greg. I must admit, I’ve had my influences…the Mary Chapin Carpenter song, “I am a Town,” was running through my head as I wrote this. If you ever want to know summer in Carolina, just listen to that song.🙂

Leave a Reply

