I’m Anti-Either and Pro-Both

Republican vs. Democrat – the unfortunate mindset of our country.

I recently saw on the CCCC Republicans billboard at the college a degree of vandalistic and disrespectful commenting. Someone had written on the CCCC Republicans flyers such attacks as “blindly follow” and “help destroy our country.” Feeling compelled – not as a republican, for that I am not, but rather as an American – to ‘return fire,’ as it were, I whipped out my natepad and started to form a small note to staple to this billboard. Though I can’t remember the exact wording I used – I was feeling aggravated, upset, and slightly patriotically offended – I do know the concept of what I wrote in retaliation to this mystery writer’s attack on these college Republicans. In short, I said that it was neither Democrats nor Republicans at fault for the continuing degradation of our country, but rather the divisive people who fuel the rift between these two sets of people. Needless to say, someone had ripped my note down within two weeks. Guess I struck a nerve…

This is why I say I am anti-either and pro-both. I neither hate nor support Republicans or Democrats; I simply hate the division. I’m sick of seeing Rep and Dem candidates for office in the executive branch. Know why? In the executive branch we elect individuals; groups and platforms are for the multi-member bodies of the legislative branch (i.e. the House and Senate). When electing executive officials, we elect individual persons. Ronald Reagan was one man, not a party – likewise with Clinton, Bush, Washington, Jefferson, Van Buren, Tyler, Roosevelt, or any president. The presidency is an individual’s office, not a party’s. Or rather, it’s INTENDED to be an individual’s office. It SHOULD be.

Now when you recognize that the office is intended for an individual and that the only platform he should be standing on are his own morals and character, there are certain items that follow. One would be the absurd thought that a President shouldn’t bring his religion into office with him. That’s stupid. He should as much bring his religion into office as he should hs arms and legs. It is a part of him as an individual. If he set his morals and religion aside as soon as elected, he would immediately cease to be the man whom the people elected in the first place. I’m not talking about Bush, I’m talking about Joe President, no matter his morals or religion. I’m a Christian, but should I see the people vote an aetheist into the Presidential office, he sure as hell better act like an aetheist because that is the man the people elected. What’s more, I’ll support him as my president while he is president. Attempts to get a certain man elected are for before and then after the election, but once the man has been voted as President, there’s nothing you can do to change that, so support him because he is the representative for your country now. There are only two things you can do now that he is President: fight against him and in-so-doing divide your country and weaken it, or support him as the current head and stand with him so that the country stands united. Nothing stands divided; it stands united; it falls divided.

So my desperate plea is this, that we put aside our devotion to a party in favor of devotion to our country.

And as a side-note, I used “he” and “Joe-President” because it’s traditional good English grammar to address undefined persons as “he” and undefined inanimates as “she,” but it could just as easily be “she” and “Jane-President.” In which case, there’s no difference; support her.

Now I apologize to my readers for having posted a political blog. There’s a first time for everything…

5 Responses to “I’m Anti-Either and Pro-Both”

  1. How very odd, I just agreed with someone political posting. It doesn’t happen very often. I’m “Anti-Either” and “Pro-Both,” too.

    -Kelsey

  2. Good. We’ll get together and found a party platform😉

  3. I don’t think there would be very many of us, and I’m really not sure why that is.

    -Kelsey

  4. I’m not either. From my perspective, it’s such a simple concept; I can’t help but wonder why no one seems to be able to see that?

  5. The concept of peace despite diversity of political opinions does seem to be a simple concept, but when in the context of the political arena, it doesn’t seem to be simplistic.

    I understand people being passionate about political issues, and that’s great people care, but it’s when that passion doesn’t help bring people together, but divides that I have a problem. I agree, it does seem to an easy concept, and I don’t understand why others don’t think so.

    It makes me think of John Lennon’s song “Imagine.” There should be a line in it about imagining a place without warring political parties.😉

    -Kelsey

Leave a Reply

