Fighting for Hope

I’m so far off

And so far gone.

I’ve played the part,

But I’m not that strong.

It’s a good show,

A nice facade.

It’s quite persistent,

But not that strong.

Inside I weep,

Outside I mend.

I’m showing promise,

But that’s pretend.

From there I’m fine,

From here I’m spent.

Perspective lies,

And it’s all pretend.

And yet there’s hope.

There’s some small chance.

I can recover,

I can advance.

I’ll cling to that

Like I clung to you.

I’ll do my best

To see it through.

I might not make it,

I might just cope.

But this way I know

There’s hope for hope.

2 Responses to “Fighting for Hope”

  1. Ah, yes. Well said. And well readily understood…

  2. Liked this better

Leave a Reply

