Unknown Abilities

I am sitting in my chair. I can either stand up, or remain seated.

I know that I have the ability to stand up from the countless other times that I have been sitting or lying down before, and have stood up. If I was able so easily to do it then, then surely I can do it now. But that is the very thing. I was able to stand up before, who knows whether I am able to now? The most I can do is assume that I have the ability to stand up now based upon me standing up countless times before. I can never really know if I have the ability to stand up until after I act upon the ability and then stand up. Then I do know that I had the ability as the ability was acted upon (hindsight is always 20/20).

But what happens if I do stand up? I would then know that I could have stood up. But I wouldn’t know whether I could have remained seated. Once again, I can assume that I could have remained seated, looking back at all the countless times that I have remained within my chair. But the only way I can ever know if I can remain seated or not is for me to act upon the ability. I can assume I have the ability, but I can never know for sure if the ability is within my power unless I act upon it.

But therein lies the problem. I am seated. I assume that I can stand up (as shown above, I cannot really know, I can only assume based upon past experiences), and I assume that I can remain seated (as shown above, I cannot really know, I can only assume based upon past experiences). Therefore I can only assume that I can stand and assume that I can remain seated.

The only way for me to know for sure which ability I have, or whether I have both, is for me to act upon them. But I can only act upon one at a time. I cannot, as it is impossible, act upon both simultaneously. Therefore, if I acted upon one, standing up, then I would know that I previously did have the ability to stand up, but I would not know whether I had the ability to remain seated. I can know that I had the ability to stand up, but only assume, once again, that I could have remained seated.

My point is simple yet of incalcuable importance. We do not know what abilities we have, or what we can do, until the time when we act upon them. I can sit here within my chair and say that I could either stand up or remain seated. But in truth, I can only assume that I can stand up and assume that I can remain seated. Likewise, after I do stand up, I can only assume that I could have remained seated. I can only say with surety that at the time I did stand up, I had the ability to stand up. Any other abilities that I speak of are based upon assumptive speculation.

Why would I ramble on about seemingly unimportant dribble such as this? Consider with me the statement:

Of course I have choice. Everyone has choice. Right now I could either choose to stand up, or I could choose to remain in my seat. Therefore, I have a choice.

This is from a friend of mine as he posted on my favorite internet forum, Crapromedia.com. It intrigues me greatly to think of this. If you feel like joining in or just want to see what people’s thoughts on the subject were and are, head over there with this LINK.

One Response to “Unknown Abilities”

  1. Okay. What about just floating? Or is that coasting? Glad I found this. Search me out sometime.

Leave a Reply

