SHOOT ME, I’VE BEEN DEFILED! But there’s hope yet…

No, I’m not talking sexually; get your mind out of the gutter, you perverted redneck!

But really, that’s what it’s all about: Redneck. I have found an artist that I enjoy listening to and that artist, though it pains me to say it, is a country artist. His name is Zac Brown and I actually enjoy listening to his music despite it being among the disgusting piece of musical heresy known as country. I don’t like any other country music that I can think of. In fact, I pretty much hate all country music and have no appreciation for it. But I like this Zac Brown guy…

So do me a favor and hold the 45. to my head now before my treachery begins to run any deeper.

But wait to pull the trigger because Mr. Brown isn’t the only new music I’ve found recently, so there may be hope for me yet. I’ve also come across some bands that subscribe to the heavier side of things. Among these are The Devil Wears Prada, Once Nothing, and Blessed by a Broken Heart.

The Devil Wears Prada is currently my favorite metal band out there. It was hard to swallow that they could be that good and I hadn’t heard of them, but they are and I know of them now. Excellent music from Swords, Dragons, and Diet Coke up through the silly Spongebob joke. I dig it.
Blessed by a Broken Heart has a lot more of an 80’s sound and feel going for them. Electronic guitar sounds and high-pitch vocals combine with their leather outfits, zebra striped guitars, and torn clothing to make for a real trip back in time. Lots of Stryper in there if you ask me.

“Blue Collar Metal” is how Once Nothing describes themselves. They certainly have a good southern metal feel. Not to the degree of, say, MatSoD, but great feel still. Love the song Waves. I’ve enjoyed listening to them, but not as much as TDWP or BbaBH. Still, I was happy to find them, they’re good.

So I leave my fate in your hands, reader. If there is no redemption for me in your eyes, I implore you to pull the trigger and splatter my tainted brains across my white-wash walls. They need some color anyway. But if I have somehow shown myself still loyal to decent music, please put the 45. back in it’s holster and let me live. After all, I’m listening to BbaBH right now and I’d kinda like to finish the song…

4 Responses to “SHOOT ME, I’VE BEEN DEFILED! But there’s hope yet…”

  1. your not going to start drinking Jagermiester and chasing it with domestic beer and dangling your toes in the water with your a_ _ in the sand like his website suggests are you?

  2. Heck no. But I really like that “Chicken Fried” song…

    And it’s better than country songs that have made it to label like “Taquilla Makes Her Clothes Fall Off” or “She Thinks my Tractor’s Sexy”…

  3. If you feel that you may be turning into a Redneck, get to Canada as quickly as possible.

  4. Glad to see you are not narrowed minded in your music. Zac is not just country. He may play ChickenFried and the next song may be Rage’s ” Killing In The Name Of” or his rap montage of “Gin & Juice, Roll Out” The Zac Brown Band is one of the most versitale and entertaining bands out there today.

Leave a Reply

