My Country, Once Great

My country, tis of thee

Land stripped of liberty

For thee I weep

Land of idolatry

Former morality

Turned to depravity

This illness deep

My country, tis of thee

Land of the soapbox king

Lost in conceit

Empty philosophies

Guiltless philandering

Worship economy

Idiocy

My country, tis of thee

Divisibility

This be our creed

Self-love and vanity

Spawns promiscuity

Have we no decency

Blind to our need

My country, tis of thee

Swift thine repentance be

This is my plea

Forsake idolatry

Strive for morality

Gain back thy decency

Make God thy King

Leave a Reply

